The Student News Site of Bakersfield High School

The Blue and White

The Blue and White

The Blue and White

Bakersfield High School wins four categories at the annual PEAAK awards

The 14th annual PEAAK awards ceremony took place on May 15 at Mechanics Bank Theater. This particular event focuses on excellence in athletics and activities

More than 300 hundred Kern High School District students and groups were nominated for awards, and 39 winners were selected.

14 years ago, there were only 19 categories; this year, there were 39 categories in total. A wide variety of community members were in attendance, including mayor Karen Goh.

After learning of the need for a bigger venue to support the finalists and guests, Valley Strong sponsored the event and made hosting the event at Mechanics Bank possible.


The winners from Bakersfield High School include:

Greatist Community Supporter: Aera Energy.

Most Inspirational: Elijah Lidgett, Liberty High School.

Outstanding Leadership: Robotics Team 7983A, Centennial High School.

Scholar Artists: Aaron Guerra, Centennial High School.

Greatest Comeback: Varsity Football Team, Shafter High School.

Best Editing in Film/Video: “Overstayed” by Kyle Palla and Aris Gomez, CTEC.

Most Memorable Moment: Boys Varsity Soccer Team, Foothill High School.

Outstanding Achievement in Technical Theater: Jesus Miranda, Golden Valley High School.

Best Example of Sportsmanship: Girls Varsity Soccer Team, Centennial High School.

Best Male Athlete: Brycen Tablit, Frontier High School.

Best Female Athlete: Aspen Hackerm, Kern Valley High School.

Best Female Student Athlete: Caelyn Armijo, Stockdale High School.

Best Male Student Athlete: Jared Delgado, East Bakersfield High School.

Athletic Play of the Year: Baylin Statler, North High School.

Best Public Event or Competition: Agriculture Communication Class, Frontier High School.

Best Student-Produced News Broadcast: HQTV NEWS, Shafter High School.

Scholar Vocalist: Armando Gil-Rojo, Stockdale High School.

Outstanding Scholar Thespian: Katie Johnson, Highland High School.

Outstanding Achievement in Theater: JuanCarlos Arellano, Mira Monte High School.

Best Student Female Athlete: Kaylynn Bolden, Independence High School. She is ranked 17th in the nation. 

Best Male Student Athlete: Jared Delgado, East High School. He is ranked #3 and holds a 4.4 GPA.

Athletic Play of the Year: Baylin Statler, North High School.

Best in Art: Francis Escudero & Isabella Escudero, Highland High School.

Best in Photography: Diego Arredondo, CTEC.

Outstanding Ensemble Performance: Mariachi Los Osos, Arvin High School.

Outstanding Performance in a Live Theatrical Production (Non-Musical): Rei Ferrel, Golden Valley High School.

Best Community Service Project: Red Cross Club, Highland High School.

Best Film/Video: “The Duel,” Centennial High School.

Outstanding Live Theatrical Production (Non-Musical): “Macbeth,” Golden Valley High School.

Outstanding Original Live Theatrical Production: “Black Bart and the Bakersfield Train Heist,” Centennial High School.

Tradition of Excellence: Future Farmers of America, Frontier High School.

Scholastic Team of the Year: Girls Varsity Soccer Team, Independence High School. 11 of 15 players maintained a 4.4 GPA.

Excellence in Writing: Abigail Arellano, Ridgeview High School.

Best News Story (Print or Digital): Kayla L. Vaughn, Del Oro High School.

Best Cheering Section (Group or Squad): Star Spirit Club, North High School.

Best Design (Print or Digital): “GG Media” by Hunter Burch & Adiel Dieguez.

Kern High School District Superintendent’s Ambassador Award: Amy Haddad and Sofia Rubio, West High School).


While PEAAK awards only present one award per category, students and groups are encouraged to remember that it is an honor to make it as a finalist nominee in the competition.


Other finalist nominees from BHS include:

Most Inspirational Award: Boys Varsity Cross Country Team.

Outstanding Leadership: Abigail Varner.

Outstanding Leadership: AVID Senior Class.

Outstanding Leadership: Jasmine Celedon.

Outstanding Artist: Madeline Wells.

Outstanding Achievement in Technical Theater: Sofia Hernandez.

Best Male Athlete: Jack Merickel.

Best Female Athlete: Addison Olson. 

Scholar Vocalist: Emma Barnes.

Outstanding Achievement in Theater: Matthew Ochoa.

Best in Photography: The Blue and White.

Outstanding Performance in a Live Theatrical Production (Non-Musical): Matthew Ochoa.

Best Community Service Project: Future Farmers of America.

Excellence in Writing: Daniela Gonzalez, The Blue and White staff writer.

Best News Story: Brandon Roberts, The Blue and White, staff writer.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
About the Contributor
Nayely Garcia
Nayely Garcia, Staff Writer
Nayely Garcia is a junior at Bakersfield High School. She enjoys writing about school events and special occasions for “The Blue and White.” Garcia takes pride in being friendly, and she enjoys spending time with her friends as often as she can. She strives to be the life of the party and seeks to bring positive energy to every gathering.

Comments (0)

All The Blue and White Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *